Google+ Followers

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Somali PM reshuffle targets President’s “allies”

Somali PM reshuffle targets President’s “allies”

Today, the Prime Minister of the Federal Government of Somalia Abdiweli Sheikh Ahmed has undertaken the long anticipated first cabinet reshuffle of his tenure.  The Prime Minister announced the reshuffle in a signed decree released early this morning.

Among the biggest changes in cabinet responsibilities was the shifting of Farah Abdulqadir, a key ally of the Somali President, Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, from the key post of the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs to, now, the Ministry of Veterinary and Animal Husbandry. He has been replaced by Salim Aliyow Ibrow who until this morning was in charge of Mr. Abdulqadir’s new portfolio.
Somali political commentators and analyst argued that the reshuffle highlights the increasingly apparent rift between the President and the Prime Minister which until recently, has been played down by both camps.
“It is obvious that the Prime Minister is targeting the President’s allies and I think this will not end well for him if it continues,” said a political analyst that did not want to be named.
“Whether the Prime Minister will finish his term or not I am not sure but he has fired a canon in the direction of the President and we can expect the President to retaliate in the near future,” said a former MP now turned adviser to the international community. “Who the victim will be is easy to speculate.”
The office of the Prime Minister and President have yet to comment on the reshuffle but there is clear consensus among Somali political analysts and MP’s that if this rift between the two most powerful executive office’s continues, the Somali people and their development path will be affected.
Below are the list of newly appointed Minister’s today in the reshuffle:
1) Salim Aliyow Ibrow appointed to Ministry Justice and Constitutional Affairs.
2 ) Farah Sheikh Abduqadir  appointed to the Ministry of Veterinary and Animal Husbandry.
3) Mahad Mohamed Salad appointed to Deputy Minister of Planning.
4) Abdirahman Abdi Mohamed appointed Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs.
5) Buri Mohamed Hamza appointed to State Minister of  Finance
6) Abdullahi Mohamed Nur appointed to State Minster of Foreign Affairs
7) Abdullahi Sheikh Ali (Qalocow) appointed to Deputy Minister of Finance
8) Fahmo Ahmed Nur appointed to Deputy Minister of Commerce
HOL will keep you updated on all the political updates on this story as it happens.

No comments:

Post a Comment